In Good Taste: Marshall Watson Interiors

Marshall Watson living room
Photographer: Werner Straube

 

Some designers contend that there should be an antique in every room.

Marshall Watson entrance hall
Photographer: Francesco Lagnese

 

For others, it’s a touch (or more!) of black, or a spot of red

Marshall Watson bathroom
Photographer: Werner Straube

 

Others still, don’t have any rules at all, make the rules up as they go along, bend the rules to reflect the family. 

Marshall Watson office
Photographer: Francesco Lagnese

 

Whether it’s with a statement making gallery wall filled with good memories,

Marshall Watson dining room
Photographer: Francesco Lagnese

 

A chic-yet-durable breakfast room suitable for adults and children alike,

Marshall Watson living room
Photographer: Francesco Lagnese

 

Or a room that combines comfort, tradition, and abstract style to create effortless style,

Marshall Watson bathroom
Photographer: Francesco Lagnese

 

We’d say that the designers of Marshall Watson Interiors play by their own rules. 

Marshall Watson dining room

The results, home after home, room after room, time after time, are stunning, pulled-together interiors that are unique to the families that live inside their walls.

Marshall Watson butler's pantry

And, really, isn’t that how it should be?

Marshall Watson sunroom

From combining comfort, style and function in a sunny garden room,

Marshall Watson bedroom

To creating a cozy, layered nest, the perfect end to any long day, 

Marshall Watson bathroom

These designers make good taste seem totally effortless.

Marshall Watson outdoor

On this, the second day of spring, we have to say that we think this outdoor style is just as chic as the indoors–and we can’t wait to get savor plenty of outside time in the months to come. Wherever you are, we hope it’s beginning to feel like spring! Thanks so much for making Design Chic a part of your day!

_______________________

We’ve found a favorite new magazine that we are absolutely crazy about! Seasons Style & Design, based in Greensboro, NC and affiliated with O.Henry Magazine, is simply too beautiful for words! (These pictures don’t do it justice!)

slightly south of simple book

So I couldn’t be any more thrilled that they were so kind to feature me–and Slightly South of Simple–in their stunning spring issue. Such a treat! I’ll be at High Point Market, as Seasons says, at the Codarus Showroom, on Sunday, April 23, from 3-5pm. I hope all you fabulous design lovers will join me if you’re in town for the big show!

  Thank you so much to Seasons for all the book love! If you’re in the Piedmont, make sure to pick up a copy–or read online! You can follow anywhere you are! We know we will!

 

Painted Shelving Transforms Rooms, Spaces With Pops of Color & More!

painted shelving in library

 

27 Designers Transform Rooms with Beautifully Painted Shelving

dering hall

 

Spaces with Vibrant Pops of Color

dering hall

 

 Cozy Bohemian Hideaway living room

 

Inside Lela Becker’s Cozy Bohemian Hideaway

rip & tan

 

Daphne Javitch’s living room

 

Inside Wellness Guru Daphne Javitch’s New York City Home

rip & tan

 

Bunny Williams Pool house

 

Enchanting Outdoor Spaces from Designers’ Homes

one kings lane

 

What People Are Saying About My New Book, SLIGHTLY SOUTH OF SIMPLE:

“Harvey, considered to be the ‘it girl’ of Southern fiction, introduces the first novel in the Peachtree Bluff Series this spring. Child, this book is everything! We’re hoping to see this soapy read on the Hallmark Channel.” –Jamey Gidden, Daytime Confidential

Also, if you want to know a little more about my new novel, SLIGHTLY SOUTH OF SIMPLE (Simon & Schuster, April 25, 2017) take a peek at the video below! (It’s only like 90 seconds. No major commitments here!)

House Tour: Summer Thornton Design Stunner

This post is going to get me in trouble. Big trouble. Because, while, at first glance, this looks like any gorgeous living room, this stunning space by Summer Thornton Design isn’t a home at all.

It’s a dental office!

And, you see, I was in charge of decorating my husband’s dental office. Honestly, I thought I did a pretty darn good job.

Well, I mean, I thought I did a good job until I saw this dental office, which, let’s face it, is the most insanely beautiful dental office of all time. Now I’m wondering if maybe I could have applied myself a little more.

Needless to say, it is giving me something to aspire to–though this might have to be my office space within the dental office. We can give hubby something a little more masculine. 

This stunning lounge is the perfect place for staff members to cozy up during a break. And it even has a stylish little nod to teeth up there!

The lounge is a great place to pick up a good book!

This takes the kids’ playroom to a whole new level! No torn up Highlights magazines here!

You might look forward to a root canal in this gorgeous exam room! 

Need to use the powder room? No problem! You’ll feel right at home in this incredible bathroom. Needless to say, I have some work to do! Thanks for the inspiration, Summer! 

Have you Entered our $200 Framebridge Giveaway, celebrating two months until the Slightly South of Simple release?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Advance Praise from D.A. Wolf from Daily Plate of Crazy

It is worth noting that Kristy Woodson Harvey is often described as a Southern voice, and indeed she is. But to leave it at that is to underestimate the power and nuance of her storytelling gift — her mastery of dialog to move plot forward, her insights into what makes women tick, and her wit. Rest assured that regardless of where you live or grew up, you will find yourself in Kristy’s writing. “Slightly South of Simple” will have you at turns teary, beaming, and nodding in recognition — as a daughter, a mother, a sister — cheering on her protagonists, Ansley and Caroline. “


Butcher Block Countertops Add Warmth to a Kitchen

butcher block countertops
Artichoke, Ltd.

 

Good morning, chic readers! We hope you had the most wonderful weekend. I got to spend an incredible weekend in beautiful Hoover, Alabama with some of my favorite authors and a few hundred of the best readers around. It was a great trip!

butcher block countertop
Brooks and Falotico Associates

 

But, of course, there’s nothing like getting back home. 

butcher block countertops
BHG

 

When it comes to the heart of the home, counters play such an important part in the overall look. 

butcher block countertops
BHG

 

Marble is beautiful, granite is great, quartz is fabulous…

butcher block countertops
Tracery Interiors

 

But for the ultimate in food prep, nothing beats butcher block.

butcher block countertops
Alisberg Parker Architects

 

We love the the look of the butcher block but its versatility is the real kitchen star.

pot rack over island
Bakes and Kropp

 

We don’t know about you, but we need functionality in the kitchen.

kitchen with marble countertops
Bakes and Kropp

 

Even a small section of butcher block can make food prep quick and simple. 

butcher block countertops
BHG

 

What a fabulous entertaining space! 

butcher block countertops
Terra Cotta Properties

 

Wood makes a kitchen feel warm and cozy.

butcher block countertop
Kitchens by Deane

 

We love how a touch of wood grounds a room.

butcher block countertops
Studio MRS

 

Are you a fan of butcher block countertops?

open shelving in kitchen
Lonny

 

Thank you so much for stopping by today. We hope you have a terrific week! 

Early Praise for My New Novel, Slightly South of Simple:

Fans of Nancy Thayer and Patti Callahan Henry will devour this story of the first of three sisters, the men in their lives, and the mother who bonds them all. —Booklist

(This is my first ever Booklist review, and I couldn’t love it more!)


House Tour: Dallas Home by Interior Designer Amy Berry

dark paneled office-Amy Berry Interior Designer

If, like us, you were loving interior designer Amy Berry’s fabulous taste yesterday, you will flip for this gorgeous house tour. Don’t miss the mini-Saarinen table and pink ghost chairs! 

Amy Barry Interior Designer neutral living room

 

books on a stool

 

dining room Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

kitchen with marble countertop -Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

bedroom with canopy

 

mirrored bathroom -Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

nursery with lucite crib-Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

lucite crib- Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

nursery -Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

floor lamp -Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

nursery -Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

basinet in nursery -Amy Berry Interior Designer

 

pink lucite chair -Amy Berry Interior Designer

We hope this stunning house has brightened your day just like it has brightened ours! Thank you so much for making Design Chic a part of your day! 

Loving this gorgeous Instagram post about Slightly South of Simple from sweet Lidy at French Garden House.

Top Ten Posts of 2016

House Tour: Watersound

Happy 2017, wonderful readers! We hope you had a terrific holiday season and are feeling refreshed, rested and ready to tackle a brand new year. We spent most of the day yesterday doing our favorite New Year’s Day activity: organizing!

2016 Kitchen of the Year

Okay. So maybe not our favorite. Maybe our favorite when it’s over and everything looks pretty?

books

Lies and Other Acts of Love

Speaking of favorites, let’s talk about your favorites. Your favorite Design Chic posts of 2016, that is. These were our most-viewed, most-popular posts of the year.

wood

Annabelle’s Guest House

And, we must say, we think you have fabulous taste. (But that’s obvious, right?)

Feeling Blue

From feeling blue,

1889 Historic Cottage

To one of our personal favorite historic cottages,

In Good Taste: Collins Interiors

From puppies so cute you wish they could run right out of the screen,

kitchen

 

House Tour: Beach Chic

to a chic retreat for any season,

ohms-and-garden

 

Slightly South of Simple

We love knowing what you loved, so that we can do more of it!

dining

Sarah Bartholomew’s Nashville Home 

If there’s ever something you want us to post about, please don’t hesitate to let us know. We love writing about what you want to read. With a new look for Design Chic, a new book coming in April and, of course, a really, really organized pantry, we think 2017 is looking bright. What are you most looking forward to this coming year?

Looking for more 2017 inspiration? I’m chatting with my friends at Your Carolina about how to create a “Life by Design” this year!



Design Chic

Stay up to date by joining our email list!

Design Chic

Stay up to date by joining our email list!